Tips for a winter trip to Iceland

So if you’re super cool, you’re going to Iceland soon. Because Iceland is the new black. As in it’s the hottest destination spot right now! And if you’re super duper cool, you scored a cheap flight because they go on sale ALL THE TIME (read up here on how I get so many cheap flights). I went over Thanksgiving 2017 for $381 roundtrip and had the time of my life. Here is how I lived it up in the Land of Fire and Ice… (ps these tips mainly apply to Iceland during the winter season)

Exploring the Golden Circle  arguably the most popular tourist attraction in Iceland and I can see why. I took a small, intimate day trip to all 3 sites and was not disappointed. The company I went with, GeoIceland, was thoughtful and really great, and I made some cool friends from around the world, which is always fun.

Photo Nov 24, 1 35 23 PM.jpg

Chasing the Northern Lights I enjoyed my chase with Time Tours – they were a little cheaper than other companies, but they drove us all over looking for lights until we saw finally some. And our guide took everyone’s photo as many times as we wanted, which was wonderful because having a magical photo under the dancing lights is 100% priceless! Since the lights don’t come out every single night, try to book towards the beginning of your trip, as most companies will let you go each night until you see them. It’s an experience that never gets old and I encourage everyone to chase those lights sometime in your life!

Photo Nov 24, 5 03 48 AM

THE BLUE LAGOON you’ve seen the pics and you’ve dreamed about it. And I can tell you that it’s exactly as you’ve imagined. I could’ve spent all day there but I stopped on my way out of town since my flight was at 7pm in the evening. It’s only about 10 minutes away from the airport, so if you’re like me and your cheap flight lands super early and leaves super late, you can tag the Blue Lagoon onto one of your flight days (as in on your way to or from the airport). If you go during the winter you can watch the sunrise in the water since it rises at like 10am (#dreamy) or you can do a day trip from Reykjavik or even a NIGHT TRIP and have a chance to see the Northern Lights from the water (#OMG). Either way, you’ll have the most luxurious time as there’s a swim up bar, super nice locker rooms, these cool mud masks they serve you in the water, a relaxing sauna room overlooking the lagoon, and even a new luxury hotel they’re building on the property if that’s your fancy. You seriously can’t go wrong no matter how you plan it. More tips in the PDF below.

Photo Nov 25, 3 54 12 AM

And more ya’ll there are SO MANY different things you can do in Iceland it’s kind of annoying trying to pick. Besides the iconic Northern Lights and Blue Lagoon, there’s whale watching, snorkeling, exploring Reykjavik, lava caving adventure, Game of Thrones tour, volcanic craters, glacier hiking, waterfalls, beaches, viking horseback riding, sea fishing, snowmobiling, a food tour (my person fav) and so much more. Get to researching now! PS TripAdvisor is my best friend when researching different tour companies, travel routes, car rentals, specific tours, etc. They’re reviewed by real travelers (aka you and me)… maybe you’ll even run across one of my reviews. 😉

And as always, here’s my PDF with my personal tips for a winter trip to Iceland – Carla’s Iceland Tips. I am by no means an expert, I just love sharing my experiences. Holler if you have ANY questions and check out more of my travel tips at www.CarlaSueTravels.us!

 

TRAVEL BONUS! I’ve been to 15+ countries and have my personal tips for each location to share with you! Paris * Amsterdam * Northern Lights in Norway * My Fav Travel Items * Rio de Janeiro * Iceland * Neuschwanstein Castle in Germany * Airbnb TipsSummer Olympics I Can Fly * Harry Potter Studio in London * Auschwitz * Cheap Flights 101Ireland * Ultimate Bucket List * Albuquerque Balloon Festival * Luxury Travel Items * Disney World for Adults (coming soon… Train through Switzerland, Sound of Music in Salzburg and Havana, Cuba!)

Carla Logo 1

Leave a comment